Research Seminar on Group Theory

Lehrstuhl für Algebra und Zahlentheorie

Sommersemester 2018


Time/Date:
Normally we meet on Tuesday 10:30 - 12:00 in room 25.22. 02.81 .
For details see schedule below.
Content:
Advanced topics in group theory are discussed in short series of talks and guest lectures.
Organizers:
Prof. Dr. Benjamin Klopsch and Dr. Matteo Vannacci
See also:
Doctoral Research Seminar in Pure Mathematics.

Talks

Topic: word growth in groups (programme)
Date Speaker Title
Tuesday 10.04.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Carsten Feldkamp Introduction
Tuesday 17.04.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Karthika Rajeev Basics of group theory
Tuesday 24.04.18
Room: 25.22.02.81
Davide Veronelli Growth of nilpotent groups
Friday 04.05.18
Time: 14:30
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Matteo Vannacci Growth of solvable groups
Tuesday 15.05.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
David Bradley-Williams Ultralimits and Asymptotic cones (Part 1)
Friday 18.05.18
Time: 14:30
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Benno Kuckuck Dimension and Asymptotic cones (Part 2)
Tuesday 22.05.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Ilir Snopche Gromov's Theorem
Tuesday 29.05.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Ilir Snopche Gromov’s Theorem for infinitely generated groups
Tuesday 05.06.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Moritz Petschick Grigorchuk’s group
Tuesday 12.06.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Oihana Garaialde Amenability and intermediate growth
Tuesday 19.06.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Matteo Vannacci Uniformly exponential growth in solvable groups
Tuesday 03.07.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Oihana Garaialde Uniform exponential growth in elementary amenable groups
Tuesday 10.07.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Benjamin Klopsch A group of non-uniformly exponential growth
Tuesday 17.07.18
Room: 25.22. 02.81
Alejandra Garrido Another proof of Gromov’s theorem

Archive


Responsibility for the web site: Benjamin Klopsch
© Copyright Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf  ♦  Imprint Privacy PolicyContact